Army · Holidays · Lifestyle · military · Military Event · Military Life · Relationships

Red, White, and Blue Freedom

Hello Everyone,

June is going by so quickly! This week my boyfriend and I celebrated our 1st year dating anniversary on the 21st. It’s crazy to think that we have already been with each other for a year and how fast it flew by! We both have had lots of life changes in that time but it was a great 1st year together! I’m not a big fan on celebrating anniversary’s especially since we have only been dating for a year but it is an accomplishment and I’m excited to see what our future holds.

thumbnail_IMG_4056.jpg
He’s decided to rock the “veteran” beard lol!

For our anniversary we went out to a nice Mexican restaurant and had margaritas and some great food. The restaurant had a fun outdoor area which was pretty neat! After dinner we went on a drive through a really nice neighborhood here in town and ended up going to one of the parks with a pond in it at the mouth of the canyon. We stayed there for a bit watching lots of ducks swim around. It was a lovely evening to be outside. We went and grabbed some froyo afterwards. Then went to Redbox and rented the movie 13 Hours.

147975_front.jpg

If you haven’t seen 13 Hours, I highly recommend it especially if you are associated with the military lifestyle. Beware that it is a very long movie but it is quite intense, emotional and action packed. The craziest part is that it is based on a true story and is about the 2012 Islamic attack on the U.S. Consulate in Benghazi, Libya. I won’t go into detail about the movie and the attack but I was quite emotional after watching it.

As some of you know, my boyfriend is a sergeant in the Army and he fulfilled two tours to Afghanistan before we started dating. He was starting his last year of his contract in the Army Reserves when we met last May and enrolled in the Individual Ready Reserve (IRR) this past May. Even though I missed the height of his Army career, the military is still a big part of our lifestyle together and it will always be. Instead of being completely out of the military, my boyfriend decided to enroll in the IRR in case his unit is called for deployment or if he decided to go back into the Army Reserves at a later date. The thought of him going away for deployment is a big possibility especially with the current attacks going on all over the world.

After watching 13 Hours, I could not believe the situation that those Americans and active and former soldiers faced. The amount of terror and fear that they all experienced is unimaginable. Not to mention the lack of support that they received. I was literally on pins and needles the whole time while watching the movie. The movie was similar to American Sniper where it showed short clips of family life at home. Those moments in the movie made me very emotional especially since the main character Jack Silva, spent multiple tours oversees and he was on contract. I can’t imagine what his wife and children went through, let alone what all he went through.

The last scene of the movie made me break out in tears while Jack is on the phone with his wife, let’s just say it was very intense and emotional. I won’t give to many hints away about the movie and the story, so I encourage you to watch the movie. It will definitely give you a fresh outlook and a new respect for our military members and veterans. 13 Hours left me with a lot of emotions that left me in shock, angry, frustrated and sad leaving me with the utmost respect and thankful for our military. I plan on researching more into the Benghazi attacks since I vaguely remember them happening during my last junior year semester of college.

With Independence Day quickly approaching I encourage us all to think about all of the American soldiers out protecting our country regardless of their branch, rank or whether they are active duty, reserves or veterans. The amount of bravery and sacrifice they hold is incredible and our country seems to take it for granite. Not to mention those left on the home front keeping their family’s strong while their husband or wife is away fighting for our country. So while you are at your 4th of July BBQ and watching fireworks make sure you think of all the soldiers that have fought and are currently fighting for our country. Be proud to be an American and do something nice for those military families who are at home waiting for their loved one to return home from fighting overseas. Thank a soldier and think of those who never made it home. Be kind and thankful for those fighting for our  Red, White, and Blue freedom!

o-AMERICAN-FLAG-facebookprint


Have you seen 13 Hours? What are some of your plans for the 4th of July?


11 thoughts on “Red, White, and Blue Freedom

  1. I saw 13 Hours recently as well. I had the same reaction as you – it was so intense, my heart was pounding pretty much the entire time. Definitely a movie I’d like to watch again. And happy 1 year to you and your boyfriend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it was quite the movie! I think I might buy it one of these days, because I would also like to watch it again. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

