Equestrian · Horse Training · Horsemanship · Horses · Lifestyle · military · Military Life · Monthly Goals · Relationships

Hello May!

IMG_7708

Wow folks, I can’t believe May is finally here! So many big things happening this month and I have been counting down the days to move into my new place and visit my family at the end of the month. Let’s just say I have been very busy this past month and I apologize for slacking on the blog posts. Hopefully once everything settles down, I will have more time to work on the blog. Lots of big things are planned for May, but first let’s do a quick re-cap of April.

April Re-Cap


Oh, April. Let’s see we kicked the month off by attending an ERA Rodeo in Salt Lake City on April 9, 2016. This is the first year for the ERA (Elite Rodeo Athletes) rodeo competitions. It is an exciting new change for the sport of Rodeo and I couldn’t have been more pleased with how the rodeo was ran! It was very entertaining and the talent of the horses and competitors was top notch! It was similar to the National Finals Rodeo, with all of the world’s top rodeo competitors. I highly recommend that you attend one, if any are held near your area! It is well worth the ticket price! The neat thing is they have a meet and greet before the rodeo, so you have a chance to get autographs and meet all of the competitors beforehand. Being a barrel racer, I was also very happy that they worked the ground before the girls raced and allowed them to warm their horses up. If you’ve been to many professional rodeos, this rarely happens, and I mean rarely! I was very impressed with how the rodeo association took care of all the athletes not just the cowboys. To read more about the ERA click here.

 

Speaking of horses and barrel racing, April was a busy month spent training and attending a few barrel competitions. I picked up Forest from “barrel boot camp” training in Southern Idaho. He is working amazing, I just need to get back in the groove with him. We went to a barrel race in Tremonton and we finally made a run in the 17 second range on a standard pattern. We are still a bit off the pace from other competitors but it was our personal best so I was thrilled! We even pulled  a check! We went to another event that weekend and things went a bit south. Barrel racing is a very humbling and frustrating sport. It has a lot of ups and downs. The set up at this race was a bit different and Forest and I had some problems with our approach to the first barrel so we didn’t have the best of luck that weekend. Even though it was frustrating, I learned a lot and we found some problem areas that needed to be addressed.

 

Roxy on the other hand is improving immensely! She is almost 100% sound and is getting better as we keep conditioning and re-building her muscles. We have been working on getting better at loping. It’s a long process but she is improving every ride. I really enjoy working with her.

Some other updates are that work was extremely busy in April. Lots of end of the year school happenings. My boyfriend was very busy during the week with the end of the year school projects, tests and assignments. It was tough at times not seeing him at all during the week, but we tried to spend as much time together as possible on the weekends. We went to an arm wrestling tournament to raise funds for wounded soldiers. It was really fun and I met the majority of soldiers in his unit that he spent his first deployment with. My boyfriend also attended his last army reserves drill in April- he is very excited that he doesn’t have to shave his beard any more. We will see how long I can let him grow it out! He decided to rein-list with the IRR (Individual Ready Reserve), so he won’t busy with Army responsibilities, but it will be easier for him to fully rein-list if he decides to do so later on.

Last weekend we went shed hunting across from Bear Lake, Utah. It was a blast! We didn’t find very many deer antlers but it was fun just seeing the view of the lake and the mountains. I hope he will take me out with him again!

 

Hello May


So far, May has been busy with moving into our new town house. Last week was spent packing and we started moving into our new place on Sunday. It is a cute 2 bedroom townhouse split on two levels. We should hopefully finish moving in tonight. My boyfriend and I are excited to move in together. This will be the first time either of us have moved in with a significant other so it will be a first! Which I think is exciting, I couldn’t think of anyone that I would rather live with then him.It will be great for our relationship and hopefully will bring on more things later on!

This weekend is a bit bitter sweet however. I have a barrel race this weekend and my boyfriend will be going with me and camping in the horse trailer. Sunday will be a bit rough though because he will be leaving for field camp in Southern Utah. The field camp goes until June 10th I believe so about a month. I’m really hoping it goes by fast. Luckily he will be able to attend my cousins wedding with me back home in Eastern Washington/Northern Idaho May 21st, so that will break up the time apart. I can’t wait to visit my family and be home! We have some exciting things planned for that weekend so I will definitely be sharing that trip with you all.

Those are the big things happening this month. Another potentially big life changing event is that I’m considering having a career change. I’m considering doing a home study and one week practicum program for Equine Massage Therapy. I found a great school that I might apply with. It’s a very intense home-study course so if I decide to pursue it I will be spending the majority of my summer studying in the meantime, so I can take the practicum course. It’s a lot to process right now, but so far I think it would be a great thing for me to do. I love working with horses, helping them would bring me a lot of joy and passion. Plus eventually it would be nice to have a very flexible schedule and I would enjoy being my own boss. It would beat sitting at a desk all day and I would be more active and happy. I’m going to ponder on the idea a bit more but hope to start saving up this month and possibly starting the home study in June. It’s exciting to think about where it could take me, but also daunting!

This month, I’m going to try to start up a new workout routine and make it daily. Since I will be moving to a new place and living by myself this month, I really hope I can just focus on me start resetting my bad habits that I’ve been doing. Last summer I was so active being an assistant horse trainer that I lost a lot of weight and was more toned. Working in an office all fall, winter, and spring is making me gain the weight back, so I really need to get my act together and start working out more and eating healthier. I’m tired of the excuses of not having a place to workout because of my roommates and so forth, so I’m going to really focus on eliminating excuses and aim high for progress. May will be a lot about self improvement and confidence. Since my boyfriend will be away for the month, this is a great opportunity to focus on my self improvement. It will keep my mind busy so I don’t worry about him being gone and it will re-charge myself.

I also hope to get back into blogging and finish my photography blog. I have a series lined up about breeding and raising horses, so stay tuned!


What big things happened to you in April? Any fun happenings that you are looking forward to in May? What are your goals for May?


 

19 thoughts on “Hello May!

  1. I have only been to one rodeo, but I LOVED IT! We lived in Wyoming one summer and attended the rodeo in Sheridan, and it was so much fun! I had no idea what to expect, but I loved everything from the Native American traditional races to the clown who did flips. So much fun. Want to go to another one some day!

    Like

  2. I love that you barrel race, that’s so cool! My freshmen year roommate did as well, and it is such an impressive sport! Congrats on your new move!

    Like

    1. Thanks Emily! It is a really pretty area. I’m hoping to venture out and go trail riding in the mountains this summer 🙂

      Like

  3. Last month we went to my little sister’s college graduation. It doesn’t seem like she should be that old! This month we’re hosting a Cinco de Mayo party, celebrating our third anniversary and my husband’s birthday! It’s a packed first half of the month, then it should mellow out a bit… except not on the writing front where I need to crank out 51,000 words this month.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you had a busy but fun month and that May is turning out to be exciting. May is looking to be a busy month for us but it is coming up on the end of the school year so it’ll be fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

