Holidays · Inspiration · Lifestyle

Holiday Planning Reminders

337881

Next Wednesday evening my boyfriend and I fly back home to visit my family and friends for the holidays. I originally thought 10 days would be plenty of time to see everyone but now that I’m creating a calendar it’s filling up fast! Before, I lived near my parents and my family gatherings. So this is the first time where I get to fly home for the holidays so it is definitely new to me! This is also my boyfriend’s first time seeing where I call home so I want to make sure we have time to show him the area.

Here are some of my realizations throughout this planning!


-It’s okay to not see everybody:

Much easier said than done! They say moving away shows who your real friends are, well I find that statement to be sadly true. I’ve decided to focus on seeing friends that have made an effort to stay in touch since the last time we saw each other. I’m sure some of those friends that haven’t made an effort to stay in touch will see my Facebook status of being home and will try to hang out but there simply isn’t time for everyone and that is okay! I have always been a people pleaser so it is hard for me to cut down and pick and choose which friends to see. So I’ve narrowed it down to a few of my close friends. I will be spending New Years with my best friend and her husband. We also have two Christmases to go to, one on my dad’s side of the family and one on my mom’s side. I’m looking forward to spending quality time with my aunts and cousins.

-Use breakfast, lunch, dinner or coffee as times to meet up with your friends:

Having meals with your friends is a great way to socialize with out making a huge time commitment! It’s a nice way to catch up on life and a great way to show that you care. So I am planning on meeting up with a few of my close friends for breakfast, dinner and coffee. 🙂

-“Tentatively” schedule travel/site seeing:

My boyfriend is going to school for geology so I would really like to show him some fun sites around the area. However it will depend on the weather and road conditions! I’ve been keeping an eye on the weather, but the Palouse Region in Washington State has the most sporadic weather conditions especially during the winter. So far the weather forecast is snow, so we might just have to stick close to home and not venture out as much, which is okay, we will hopefully be visiting again this spring and summer. We might have to pull out the old sleds in the barn and spend a lot of time sledding on the hills around my parents house!

-Save some time for yourself or in this case yourselves:

The holidays can be really stressful. So many commitments in such a little time frame so it is important to remember that you are still on vacation! I’m trying to leave time in our schedule for some downtime. We will be spending quite a bit of time seeing friends and family and traveling around the area, so it will be nice to have some leisure time in between the busy times to watch Netflix and movies.

-Try not to get too caught up in planning:

This is another thing that is easier said than done! I’m a planner and my boyfriend just seems to go with the flow. Yes, I have created somewhat of a schedule so I don’t accidentally mix up times where I’m already planning on seeing a friend or family member. But it is important to remember that plans change and they don’t always work out! Again, you’re on vacation, so try not to set a schedule that is set to the exact minute. Have some flexibility! If you have to cancel an outing, that is okay!

-Take the time to simply “Enjoy” the holidays:

Lastly, enjoy the holidays! Christmas and New Years only happen once a year so take some time to breathe, reflect, and find joy in this busy crazy time of the year! Be thankful to spend time with your friends and family (even if they can be super stressful). Simply enjoy the season, the music, the decorations, the cold, and the snow (if you have some)! Take some time to go look at Christmas lights or go on a walk through the snow! Be thankful for how blessed we are to have a holiday experience! It’s even okay to pause reminisce on being a kid and build a snow man or a snow angel! Heck have a family snowball fight! Enjoy it!


These are some reminders that I’ve told myself while scheduling my holiday visit. What are some of yours? How do you handle holiday planning?

 

 

44 thoughts on “Holiday Planning Reminders

  1. This year we are staying close to home so holiday planning isn’t as hectic. However, both of our families live out of state so when we do visit them we have the same dilemmas you have. One suggestion I was given a long time ago was to let people come see me as opposed to me trying to go see everyone. I find that philosophy has drastically reduced my stress level when I travel to see family. Thanks for sharing. Happy Holidays!

    Like

    1. Thank you! It is! I love meeting friends up for coffee, its nice and relaxing. We have some awesome coffee shops back home too! Happy Holidays!

      Like

  2. Great tips. Flexibility is definitely key! I tend to overplan sometimes but as long as we’re flexible in making changes last minute it all works out. Down time is definitely essential.

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more. We don’t live that far from friends and family, but we differently have to make a schedule and time to see certain people because we don’t like hurting anyones feelings..

    Like

  4. It’s a great idea to have a plan. I’m a people pleaser too so it is hard for me not to try to make everyone happy. It sounds like you guys are going to have a lot to do but you’ve got it planned perfectly. Safe travels!

    Like

  5. I think the whole thought of taking care of yourself as well as saying no are so important. We tried to do everything our first year married and it was horrible, Saying no, asking for different days, etc, have helped so very much to let us truly enjoy the holidays!

    Like

    1. I also think it is very important! Sometimes saying no works out for the better in the end, even though it’s difficult too! Merry Christmas!

      Like

  6. These are good tips. Sadly this year we only have two days at home for Christmas so it’s impossible to see everyone – we’ll see most of the family on Christmas and are meeting up with a couple of friends the day after.

    Like

Leave a Reply

