Lifestyle · Military Event · Military Life

Prayers for Paris

Prayers for ParisI wasn’t originally planning this post tonight, but due to a major terrifying event that is happing in Paris, I have quite a few thoughts and questions running through my mind. In case you haven’t heard, France has closed down it’s boarders as a state of emergency due to multiple terrorist attacks all over Paris. Over 160 people are dead from 6 attacks, 120 of them were killed in the Bataclan concert hall. For more information and a current live feed here is a link.

My first question is why? Why would someone do this to innocent people who were attempting to have an enjoyable night out? Why would God let something happen like this? Why wasn’t there more protection and security for those people? Why weren’t there any warnings or precautions? It’s crazy to think that our world was soo caught up with minor things like the color of Starbucks cups these past few days and to have something horrific happen in just moments! It’s terrifying that everything can change in an instant.  I feel horrible for all of the victims family and friends. Not to mention those visiting and living in Paris and France right now. I can’t even begin to imagine the pain, sorrow and worry on their minds. It is awful, absolutely terrible and depressing.

My second question is what? What is going to be the outcome of this? What is going to be done to solve this, to finally solve terrorism, ISIS, etc… What if more attacks happen? What if this happened in the United States? How would we handle it?  This question has me worried on so many different levels. Specifically, I’m worried that my boyfriend might change his plans and rein-list in the Army, especially since his current enlistment ends in May.  That this might make him want to deploy again. I know if this had happened in the U.S. he would want to be on the first flight out to protect his country. I’m new to dating a military man, so the thought of him being away on deployment, absolutely terrifies me. Would I be able to handle him being away on a deployment? I think so, but it makes me nervous. I know I sound extremely selfish right now, but this is what is flooding through my mind. I’ve never been in this situation before. Ive always been interested in current events and happenings in the world, but now I’m being faced with a new perspective, and horrific events like this really hit home. My boyfriend is currently away this weekend at Drill, so I know there will be lots of talk about it there with his fellow soldiers. I’m just nervous to find out how he feels about this. Even if this causes him to re-inlist and deploy, I believe that we will be able to withstand it and stay strong, I’m just being paranoid and anxious.

If you are a military spouse or significant other, how do you handle situations like this? Are these thoughts also running through your mind? 

I know God has a reason for everything he throws at us, I just wish I had a better concept of his reasoning, especially when something horrific like this happens to the world. I know God uses situations like these to remind us to be thankful for loved ones, family, friends and things we find important in our lifestyles. So for the rest of the night, I’m going to focus on being thankful and try not to worry about the outcome of this event. God has a plan, whether we like it or not. He knows where the world is heading and the outcome of attacks like these. He is all-knowing.

I’m going to pray for Paris, pray for the victims, their loved ones, their family members and their friends. I’m going to pray for the country of France, their leaders, the inhabitants and visitors. I’m going to pray for the terrorists who caused these events in terms of hoping that they will stop, confess, and give a reason for their actions. I’m going to pray that our world can find a proper resolution for this event. Lastly, I’m going to pray for our country, our leaders and our military.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”-Proverbs 3:5-6

“Do not be afraid of sudden terror or of the ruin of the wicked, when it comes, for the Lord will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being caught.”- Proverbs 3:25-26

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” – Revelations 21:4

“Trust in Him at all times, pour your hearts out to Him, for God is our refuge.”-Psalm 62:8 

17 thoughts on “Prayers for Paris

  1. That’s not selfish. It’s normal to worry, and those are all reasonable questions. This is such a heart-breaking tragedy that has happened. Sorrow is across the globe right now. I can’t answer any of the questions above. I just have more of my own questions to add to it, and we may never find out the answers. This is so horrible. It makes me so sad to think people will do this to other people and not blink and eye. It’s so scary and frustrating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sabrina. It is very scary and frustrating. It’s hard to imagine how some people can be so heartless and feel okay with being that way.

      Like

  2. How terrifying and awful. Terrorism is so awful. We had an issue last year with a gunman loose and it was so scary. I live in the suburbs and even here we were afraid to go outside. I can only begin to imagine what it was like for those at the time and living there now. Why can’t we all get along? World peace shouldn’t just be a joke at a beauty pageant, it should be real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, I bet this really hits home then for you, that would have been a scary and very tough situation to be in. I agree, it would be nice if everyone could get along. This definitely puts some minor disagreements to a new perspective. If only everyone was more wiling to strive for peace and actually put it into action.

      Like

  3. It’s so hard to try and make any sense of what happened. When 9/11 occurred here I was living just outside of NYC and had friends/family in the city. Even in the World Trade Center. So I can imagine a little bit of what people over there are feeling now. There just are no words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’am also very thankful for those who do go overseas and fight. Extremely thankful for their service. The world has a lot of problems now, but it’s hard to imagine how much worse it could be without our service members fighting to protect us.

      Like

  4. It so hard to bare. Everytime the story came on I was glued to it. I feel so much pain for everyone. It’s hard to watch. I’m saddened for the families, the country and our future, mad at the people that caused this. I can’t grasp the the hatred. Adding the verses to your post was nice.

    Like

    1. I completely agree with you. I wish I actually had tv/cable so I can watch the news casts live. Luckily the internet has been helpful. Re-reading those verses helped me so I thought I would let others see them in hopes of comfort.

      Like

  5. I appreciate the stream of consciousness with which this post was written. Please understand that your thoughts are identical to so many others’ at this time, and some of these questions may never be answered. Prayer can be powerful, so thank you for sharing a few great verses for all of us to try out.

    xo,
    Melissa | These words are my own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

